Gabrielle Grom
sterling silver
jewellery creator

Gabrielle

Her early childhood is spent in Geneva, where her father Jean-Pierre Grom, artist-painter, has a workshop of engraver-jeweller in the Grand-Rue of the Old Town. He officiates among others for Rolex. Her family moves back to the canton of Neuchâtel, in Saint-Aubin, when she is eight years old.
As a only child, her parents encourage her to express her creativity and curiosity about Life. She then begins, still a child, to come up with her own drawings under the watchful eye of her father who teaches her the techniques of the trade and allows her to put her ideas into practice. He transmits to her a rigor of work, in conformity with her already geometric drawings.
Her passion for this work with matter is now part of her life and quickly takes her to participate in various collective and individual exhibitions.
Click image to view gallery

Technique

Gabrielle uses a plate-to-plate welding technique, polishing and sulfur oxidation, similar to the Hopi technique, to create contrasts between anthracite oxidized zones and polished silver shine, as well as depths.
A relatively recent technique among the Hopis, it goes back to the years 1940-50. The Hopi tribe organized the Hopi Arts and Crafts Silver Craft Cooperative Guild in Second Mesa, Arizona, in 1949. This technique stems from other approaches that the Hopis had received from the Navajos who themselves had learned them from Mexican jewellers.
Subsequently these tribes influenced each other, the Hopis usually engrave the black oxidized areas while the Navajos keep them sober on more massive pieces, although in time the jewellers have come to individualize their style both at the technical level and at the symbolic level of the drawings

Workshop

Click image to view gallery
Gabrielle invites you, by appointment, to visit her workshop and to discover her work and her creations. Each piece, in sterling silver, is unique.
She can also create custom-made pieces that take into account your desires and ideas, in order to adapt to your personal taste, while maintaining her own style, for a jewel that resembles you.

Contact

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Gabrielle Grom Chemin du Moulin 14 1588 Cudrefin Switzerland
© Gabrielle Grom | Webdesign ianstudio

Gabrielle Grom
créatrice de bijoux
en argent massif

Bijoux en argent massif

Gabrielle

Sa  petite enfance est passée à Genève, où son père Jean-Pierre Grom, artiste-peintre, a un atelier de graveur-bijoutier dans la Grand-Rue de la Vieille Ville. Il officie entre autres pour Rolex. Sa famille retourne s’installer dans le canton de Neuchâtel, à Saint-Aubin, lorsqu’elle a huit ans.

Fille unique, ses parents l’encouragent à exprimer sa créativité et sa curiosité face à la Vie. Elle se met alors à élaborer, encore enfant, ses propres dessins sous l’oeil observateur de son père qui lui enseigne les techniques de bijouterie et lui permet de mettre en pratique ses idées. Il lui insuffle une rigueur de travail, en adéquation avec ses dessins déjà géométriques.

Sa passion pour ce travail de la matière fait désormais partie de sa vie et l’emmène rapidement à participer à différentes expositions collectives et individuelles.

Cliquez sur l’image pour voir la galerie

Technique

Gabrielle utilise une technique de soudure plaques sur plaques, de polissage et une oxidation au foix de souffre, similaire à la technique Hopi, permettant de créer des contrastes entre les zones oxidées anthracites et la brillance de l’argent poli, ainsi que des zones de profondeurs différentes.

Une technique relativement récente chez les Hopis, elle remonte aux années 1940-50. La tribu Hopi organisa la Hopi Arts and Crafts Silver craft Cooperative Guild à Second Mesa (Arizona) en 1949. Cette technique découle d’autres approches que les Hopis avaient reçues des Navajos qui les avaient eux-mêmes apprises de bijoutiers mexicains.

Par la suite ces tribus s’influencèrent les unes et les autres, les Hopis généralement gravent les parties noires oxydées et les Navajos eux les gardent sobres sur des pièces plus massives, bien qu’avec le temps les bijoutiers en soient venus à individualiser leur style autant au niveau technique qu’à celui de la symbolique des dessins.

Atelier

Cliquer sur l’image pour voir la galerie

Gabrielle vous invite, sur rendez-vous, à visiter son atelier afin d’y découvrir son travail et ses créations. Chaque pièce, en argent massif, est unique.

Elle peut aussi élaborer des pièces sur mesure prenant en compte vos désirs et idées, afin de s’adapter à votre goût personnel, tout en gardant son style propre, pour un bijou qui vous ressemble.

Contact

  • Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.

Gabrielle Grom
Chemin du Moulin 14
1588 Cudrefin
Suisse

© Gabrielle Grom | Webdesign ianstudio